Nations, was formed in 1919 by a Commission set up for the purpose, which drew up the twenty-six articles of which it is composed. The Covenant was inserted at the head of the several Treaties of Peace and came into force on Jan. 10, 1920.

The Organs of the League.-The organs of the League are:-

- (a) The Assembly;
- (b) The Council;
- (c) The Secretariat;
- (d) The International Labour Organization; (see Chapter XIX).
- (e) The Permanent Court of International Justice.

The Assembly.—The Assembly consists of representatives of the members of the League, and meets annually in regular session each September in Geneva. At the 15th Assembly in September, 1934, the Canadian Delegation was headed by the Rt. Hon. R. B. Bennett, Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs.

The Council.—The Council, which originally consisted of five permanent members and four non-permanent members, now consists of six permanent members (the British Empire, France, Italy, Germany,* Japan[†] and the U.S.S.R.) together with ten non-permanent members elected for three years (three retiring each year) from among the sixty States which are Members of the League. The non-permanent members of the Council are at present as follows: Czechoslovakia, the United States of Mexico and Poland, terms expiring 1935; Argentine Republic, Australia, Denmark and Portugal, terms expiring 1936; Chile, Spain and Turkey, terms expiring 1937. Canada was a member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930.

The Council, which normally meets four times a year and more frequently if circumstances should require it to do so, may deal at its meetings with any matter within the sphere of action of the League or affecting the peace of the world.

The Secretariat.—The Permanent Secretariat represents the Civil Service of the League. The staff is appointed by the Secretary General with the approval of the Council. The officials of the Secretariat of the League are exclusively international officials, having international and not national duties. The first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond, who was named in the Annex to the Covenant, resigned in 1933 and was succeeded by M. Joseph Avenol, who is assisted by two Deputy Secretaries General (one Spanish and one Italian) and by one Under-Secretary General (British).

Permanent Court of International Justice.—The Permanent Court of International Justice was established by the Protocol of Dec. 16, 1920, in accordance with Article 14 of the Covenant of the League of Nations. It is composed of a body of fifteen judges elected by the Assembly and Council of the League of Nations for a term of nine years, and sits at the Hague. The Court is competent to hear and determine any dispute of an international character which the parties thereto submit to it; it may also give an advisory opinion upon any dispute or question referred to it by the Council or the Assembly. Article 36 of the Statute of the Court provides that any State may recognize as compulsory the jurisdiction of the Court in all or any classes of legal dispute concerning:—

For footnotes see end of article, p. 97.